Offer an Escape Game 🎁
The perfect original Christmas gift 🎄

Why are there zones?

You must know it Karen, if you know a little bit how France works, or if you live there: the hexagon is divided into three zones (A,B,C) during school vacations. This division has existed since the 1960s.

But why were these zones created?

Quite simply to extend the tourist period and to encourage tourist activities for longer. In fact, by dividing France into three zones, we can avoid all French people being all together, the same two weeks, in the same ski resort, for example. The winter and spring school vacations are therefore extended to 4 weeks.

Each year, there is a rotation so that each zone starts or ends the vacations once. There are more or less the same number of students in each zone, to share France equally.

Which cities and regions are in Zone A?

In Zone A, we find: Besançon, Bordeaux, Clermont-Ferrand, Dijon, Grenoble, Limoges, Lyon and Poitiers.

Which cities and regions are in Zone B?

In Zone B, we find: Aix-Marseille, Amiens, Caen, Lille, Nancy-Metz, Nantes, Nice, Orleans-Tours, Reims, Rennes, Rouen, Strasbourg

Which cities and regions are in Zone C?

Zone C includes: Creteil, Montpellier, Paris, Toulouse and Versailles

Coddy - Take €5 OFF

Take €5 OFF

Sign up to receive €5 OFF your first order!

Self guided game
On your own device
365 days to play
Extend twice for free
7/7 support
9am - 6pm
1 planted tree
per order